Share Presentation:
touch meby kalandrakas on Flickr

  • A season is a division of the year, marked by changes in weather and hours of daylight.
  • Seasons result from the yearly revolution of the Earth around the Sun and the tilt of the Earth's axis relative to the plane of revolution.
  • In temperate and sub-polar regions generally four calendar based seasons are recognized: spring , summer , autumn  and winter . 
  • However, ecologists in Europe and Australia are increasingly using a six season model for temperate climate regions that includes pre-spring  and late summer  as distinct seasons along with the traditional four .
Slide Options : Move UP,   DOWN,   DELETE,   Insert BLANK Slide
Tulpeby elbfoto on Flickr

  • During May, June and July, the northern hemisphere is exposed to more direct sunlight because the hemisphere faces the sun. 
  • The same is true of the southern hemisphere in November, December and January. 
  • However, due to seasonal lag, June, July and August are the hottest months in the northern hemisphere and December, January and February are the hottest months in the southern hemisphere.
Slide Options : Move UP,   DOWN,   DELETE,   Insert BLANK Slide
a touch of sakuraby kalandrakas on Flickr

  • In some tropical and subtropical regions it is more common to speak of the rainy (or wet, or monsoon) season versus the dry season, because the amount of precipitation may vary more dramatically than the average temperature. For example, in Nicaragua, the dry season is called Summer (Oct to May) and the rainy season is called Winter (Apr to Nov) even though it is located in the northern hemisphere.
  • In other tropical areas a three-way division into hot, rainy and cool season is used.

Slide Options : Move UP,   DOWN,   DELETE,   Insert BLANK Slide

 Share this Presentation: - Educational Videos, Lessons, Quizzes & Presentations